Governing and management bodies

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the highest body of government and representation of the Institut Guttmann. It is responsible for safeguarding, interpreting and developing the foundation’s aims expressed in its Articles of Association.


Members of the Fundació Institut Guttmann Board of Trustees:

Dr. Antoni Esteve Cruella

Ms. Mònica Terribas Sala
1st Vice Chair 

Mr. Josep Giralt Lladanosa
2nd Vice Chair

Ms. Núria Basi Moré

Mr. Josep Armas Pujol

Mr. Enric Botí Castro de la Peña

Mr. Albert Carbonell Quer

Ms. Núria Mas Canal

Ms. Irene Rigau Oliver

Dr. Rosa M. Sebastián Pérez

Dr. Jordi Sierra i Gil

Mr. Josep M. Solé Chavero

Social and Participation Council

The “Social and Participation Council” of the Institut Guttmann is an advisory body to the Board of Trustees which includes representatives of the major associations of people with disabilities to whom their care activity is directed, related government agencies and professional experts, as well as members of the management team of the institute and a representative of the company committee.

It is a pioneering initiative in the health sector which reinforces the institute’s social commitment, and facilitates movement towards democratic ways of working with greater transparency, control, participation and collective responsibility.



Representing associations:

As experts of civil society:

Mr. Quim Bonaventura Ayats
Expert, former member of the boards of MIFAS, ECOM, COCEMFE, CERMI, and ex-councillor of Girona

Mr. Josep M. Bosch Vidal
Secretary of the Council. Lawyer, expert in health law and personal data protection

Ms. Dolors Colom Masfret
Expert in social work and director of Agathos magazine

Ms. Asun Pié Balaguer
Disability researcher. Professor of Psychology and Educational Sciences at the UOC

Mr. Josep M. Solé i Chavero
President of the Council. Lawyer, expert on social affairs and director of the Fundació Tutelar (Guardianship Foundation) of Girona

Mr. Joan Subirats Humet
Political science professor and IGOP researcher

Representing the government agencies:

Ms. Cecilia Fábregues i Arbués
Head of Sectoral Programmes of the Department of Work, Social Welfare and Family of the Generalitat de Catalunya

Awaiting appointment
Servei Català de Salut. Department of Health of the Generalitat de Catalunya

Mr. Rubén Guijarro Palma
Mayor of Badalona

Ms. Carme Riu Pascual
Member of the Governing Council of the Institut Municipal de Persones amb Discapacitat, Ajuntament de Barcelona

Representing the Institut Guttmann:

Dra. Montserrat Bernabeu Guitart
Head of Medical Area

Ms. Ana Suñé
Empowerment and Quality of Life Department

Ms. Blanca Cegarra
Empowerment and Quality of Life Department

Ms. Elisabet González Martín
Head of the CSR and Communication Area

Mr. Xavier Pallàs García
In behalf of the Work Council

Dr. Josep M. Ramírez Ribas
Managing Director

Dr. Josep M. Tormos Muñoz
Research Director


Representing the Institut Guttmann:

Dra. Montserrat Bernabeu Guitart
Head of Medical Area

Ms. Ana Suñé
Empowerment and Quality of Life Department

Ms. Blanca Cegarra
Empowerment and Quality of Life Department

Management team

Joint Committee

The Institut Guttmann – UAB Joint Committee is the planning and monitoring body for the activities of the Guttmann University Institute of Neurorehabilitation, affiliated with the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. 

Formed by three representatives of the Institut Guttmann and three from the University, the Joint Committee coordinates the relationship between both parties and has various responsibilities:

  • To ensure compliance with established goals.
  • To establish the research and teaching lines of the University Institute.
  • To promote the course offerings and guarantee the quality of all courses.
  • To promote partnerships.
  • To report on issues arising from the affiliation agreement.


Composition of the Institut Guttmann - UAB Joint Committee:

Armand Sánchez Bonastre
Vice Chancellor of Research and Transfer, UAB

Manel Armengol Carrasco
Delegate of the Rector for Relations with Health Institutions

Vicenç Fonollosa Pla
Dean of the Faculty of Medicine

Josep M. Ramirez Ribas
Managing Director, Institut Guttmann

Joan Vidal Samsó
Education Director, Institut Guttmann

Josep M Tormos Muñoz
Research Director, Institut Guttmann